Somewhere Else

https://stillroasty.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/rethinking-my-purpose/

For those few readers out there, somewhere, I’m reposting this because I share roasty’s frustration with the commodification/vilification/deification of what happens online. Keyboard warriors, indeed. Echo chambers reminiscent of cathedralic recitations, probably less meaningful than the cows lowing in the field across the road.

During the run-up to this past joke of an election, I couldn’t help but think of the adolescent nature of it all, and that any serious consideration of what was really happening was pushed to the sidelines, to a smaller echo chamber, where the newly converted were herded into a virtual playpen, or, as it turns out, just another intellectual abattoir.

I’m going back to reading books and keeping my thoughts to myself except when I’m face to face with someone, anyone. And if the connection leads to something, so much the better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.